Great Dad Tip: Playfully Share Your Passions with Your Kids

Look what I got to do with my awesome boys last weekend!

 

IMG_1495

We had a brutally cold winter in Kentucky, and it’s still chili. In fact, two days after this mini-golf outing we got snow again. Geez.

You can see, we still had long pants on. But a little break in the weather and one of the first signs of sun meant it was time to get ourselves out of the house and off to the driving range for the first time this spring. Man, did we have fun. My boys did great, showing so much improvement from previous years, even with the long layoff for winter. They’re all getting bigger, stronger, and becoming even better athletes.

Golf is certainly one of my passions. There is little that feeds my soul more than being on a beautiful course and allowing myself the time and pleasure to be in that environment to do something I truly love. And to be doing it with my boys, there just isn’t much better.

I’ve actually been sharing golf with my boys since they were very young.

3 boys Golf 3.03But now that they are 12, 14, and almost 16, well, it’s my all-time favorite foursome.

There’s something so satisfying with not only sharing my passion with my boys but seeing them embrace it for themselves, and truly enjoy it. My youngest, Kai, said afterwards, “Dad, I actually had way more fun than I thought I would.” JD, my oldest, was the last one off the range, still hitting balls and smiling long after I had quit. Then they asked if we could go play a few holes. So we did. We hopped into two different carts and played seven holes together. We didn’t get back to make dinner until 8pm. We were tired, happy, and all felt closer to each other after that fun, shared experience.

I love these guys.

One of the coolest things I noticed on about the third hole is what a great opportunity this provided for practicing all three of the core fathering practices I teach—affirmation, acceptance, and affection. Along with coaching my boys, I praised each of them repeatedly as we went, and I could see them soaking up Dad’s affirmation. I expressed total acceptance of however they performed, and made it clear this was only for fun. And it was so easy to be affectionate out there with them—high fives, a dadly punch in the shoulder, pat on the back, or fist bump. And some hooting and hollering, accompanied with a big bear hug, after the particularly stellar shots. It was so fun, and as filling for them as it was for me.

What are you passionate about?

What fills your tank?

How are you sharing your passions with your kids?

Here’s a fun taste of the way we related out there.
Check this little man out. Not bad form, eh? 


To read more from Keith, take a look at his book:

Large Book with Outline

images

2 thoughts on “Great Dad Tip: Playfully Share Your Passions with Your Kids

  1. I loved reading how you’re passing on your passion for golf to your kids, especially as I went to school in St. Andrews and couldn’t avoid being aware of the sport’s importance to the area where I grew up. I’m hoping to share my interests in football (soccer) and travel with our son, but will definitely encourage him if it’s other sports or hobbies that appeal to him. He’s only one year old, but he’s already been to a football match. As he slept through most of it, I’m not sure what sort of effect it had on him.

    • This was really fun to hear, Jonathan. I took my oldest to a pro baseball game when he was only a couple of months old, and he slept through much of it as well. He now hates baseball. I hope that’s not your fate. I love to hear of your love for your boy and for sharing your sports with him, and encouraging him to pursue his own. That’s great fathering.

Leave a Reply

